Twelfth Conference

posted in: Conferences | 0

The Twelfth Pakistan Psychological Association Conference was held with effect from 17th-18th March 2007 at Lahore—-Pakistan. The Theme of the Conference was Psychological “Management in Disastrous Situation.” The host of the Conference was Lahore College for Women University, Lahore and the Vice Chancellor; Prof. Dr. Bushra Mateen was the Patron in Chief and the patrons were Prof. Dr. Imtiaz Ahmad Cheema, Prof. Dr. Azhar Ali Rizvi and Mr. Riaz Khan Fatiyana (MNA).

The inaugural Ceremony was held on March 17th 2007; Dr. Bilal Aslam Sufi addressed the delegates and participates in the welcome ceremony. Then the report was presented by Secretary Information PPA. Afterwards Dr. Bushra Mateen, Vice Chancellor LCWU, Prof. Dr. Ruhi Khalid, General Sectional President and Major General Farooq Ahmad Khan (Guest of Honor) and Chairman National Disaster Commission addressed to the participants of the Conference.

There were two academic sessions. The Chairperson, Co-Chairpersons and Secretaries were Mr. Riaz Fatiyana (MNA), Dr. Najma Najam and Dr. Farhana Shameem, Dr. Rahat Sajjad and Shehreen Azad and Shazia Khalid. A panel discussion was also held under the topic “Social Responsibility of Psychologist and Mental Health Professionals”. The Chairperson was Dr. Imtiaz Cheema. In the evening the Business Session was held in which members of PPA (Life and Regular) participated. The new PPA body was Elected. Dr. Ahsan-Ullah Khan was the Chief Election Commissioner along with two members Prof. Dr. Azhar Ali Rizvi and Prof. Khalid Saeed. The following office bearers were Elected/ Nominated, Dr. Mian Aftab Ahmed (President), Dr. Nadeem Ahmed Pirzada (Senior Vice President), Mrs. Shireen Asad (Secretery General), Prof. Sheikh Muhammad Saeed (co-opted) and Prof. Khalid Ramey (Vice Presidents Punjab), Dr. Anila Amber Malik and Ms. Muniza Sheikh (co-opted/ nominated Vice Presidents of Sindh), Dr. Rahat Sajjad and Dr. Muhammad Jahanzaib Khan (co-opted/ nominated Vice Presidents NWFP), Dr. Azam Tahir (co-opted/ nominated Vice President Baluchistan), Dr. Anis-ul-Haq and Ghulam Murtaza Bodla (co-opted/ nominated Vice Presidents Federal Area, AJK, FATA), Mazhar Iqbal Bhatti and Irfan Hussain Ahmed, Usman Rasheed Chaudhry, coopted (Additional Secretary Generals), Irfan Kisana (Secretary Press & Pulications), Mrs. Fakhra Attique Bukhari, Mrs. Tahira Anwar, Mr. Khawaja Farooq Ahmed, Mrs. Shahnila Tariq, Mrs. Rafia Rafique (Executive Members), Mrs. Huma Waseem, Ms. Aisha Azhar, Mr. Farrukh Waheed, Muhammad Salman Khan and Dr. Muhammad Ilyas were (co-opted Executive Members.

On Sunday March 18th, 2007 two academic sessions were held. The Chairperson, CoChairperson and Secretaries were Dr. Azhar Ali Rizvi, Dr. Kausar Suhail, Dr. Mian Aftab Ahmed, Dr. Abbas Asim and Prof. Sabir Hussain and Marrukh Masood. Then there were interactive group session. In the closing ceremony the Chief Guest was Ch. Muhammad Iqbal Minister for Health Government of the Punjab who took the Oath from the newly Elected Body of PPA. Dr. Bushra Mateen, Dr. Bilal Aslam Sufi the outgoing President and Dr. Mian Aftab Ahmed newly Elected President addressed the participants of the Conference. Foreigners Certificates and Participation Certificates were also distributed by the Chief Guest along with vote of thanks.